New and need help!!

Archives1

Staff member
Hey everyone!

My name is Matt and I’m new to all of this and was looking for some help. A little about me; I’m a healthy 29 year old that recently was told I have urge incontinence/overactive bladder and I have a few questions if anyone on here could help me I’d really appreciate it!

So about 4 months ago I started dribbling quite a bit after I would pee. I thought no big deal as I’ve always heard “No matter how long you shake and dance, the last few drops end up on your pants.” Not long after that began I started having sudden intense urges to urinate and all of a sudden I would be going and I could kinda slow it but not completely stop it.

So I went to the urologist and had a bunch of test done and everything came back completely normal. They gave me Myrbetriq which hardly worked and gave me the worst headaches I’ve ever experienced. They then took me off of that and put me on Vesicare which did not work at all.

My questions are:
1. Is it common to have all test come back normal and still have these problems?
2. What would y’all recommend I do?

Thanks for any help!

Hey Matt,

Welcome. You are going to find a lot of help here. I myself am 34 and have OAB as well. I have no other medical conditions other than some significant bedwetting issues (and have my whole life).

I have been to many doctors as well and their response was pretty much the same as yours, "tests are normal and it shouldn't be happening." It can be frustrating.

I have just resorted to wearing diapers. I think most of us with incontinence/OAB find it more comfortable than any solution the medical community recommend. I personally don't mind it as much now, but diapers as an adult certainly took some time for me to adjust to. I would recommend you find a really high quality diaper that works and fits well. It will help you feel more secure and not worry so much about sudden voids.

Best of luck to ya!

DD