Hard Decisions

Archives1

Staff member
Hello I am new to this blog but not new to urinary and fecal incontinence as well as cervical prolapse and general pelvic floor dysfunction. My 1st child was born in 2002 and second in 2004. I had small tears and a small episiotomy but other that that, they were normal vaginal births. As I expected I had stress urinary incontinence but didn't think anything of it.

I was a busy mom of two small children so I am not sure when all the other issues started. The first issue that bothered me enough to seek help was pelvic pain while menstruating. My gynecologist explained that I was suffering from cervical prolapse and in 2008 we scheduled a hysterectomy.

Since I was in my early 20's I have suffered from IBS due to stress and anxiety so I have always have had issues with diarrhea. The fact that I was leaking some when my bowels where loose didn't alarm me too much but I did seek help to decrease the diarrhea. The leakage turned into urgency fecal incontinence and I found a colorectal surgeon that through she could help. Come to find out, I had a 30% tear in my external sphincter. In 2013, my Interstim was implanted and gave me about a 50% relief at first.

In 2014, my fecal incontinence started getting worse, I thought it was due to the stress I was under going through a divorce. Then in 2015 a new symptom started, fecal incontinence during sex. If you thing that having a full bowel movement in public is horrendous, imagine dating for the 1st time after 20 years and becoming incontinent during intimacy. I immediately went to my gynecologist, (my colorectal surgeon was now out of network) who determined that my vaginal/rectal wall was extremely thin causing rectal prolapse. The feces would collect in the prolapse and was being pushed out during sex. I had vaginal reconstructive surgery to build up the wall. This surgery did not help at all. My boyfriend (now husband) was wonderful and we have found what works for us.