Don't like the clamp!

Archives1

Staff member
My incontinence is evidently a byproduct of Parkinson's Disease. My brain just does not communicate with my bladder very well any more and uncontrollable urine releases are the result. I have been wearing Depends for the last three years and that is getting really expensive. I've been tried on several different medication, currently Tolteridine, none of which have worked. My urologist thought I should try a Cunningham clamp. I ordered it and have been using it for about two weeks now. It definitely stems the flow and has me down to one Depend a day, but it is starting to cause a sore on my penis and somewhat of a burning sensation when urine is released. Anybody have experience with these?

@chuckers1

Yes. Very short experience, very unpleasant. (I tried it on my own.) I've NEVER had a urologist suggest or even 'half-way' endorse this device. In reality, it's a tourniquet. Only in an emergency would you apply a tourniquet to a body appendage -- and then for a very limited time.

Those are my thoughts because I considered such a clamp dangerous.

Depends are worthless as far as protection. Try a good brief like a dry 24/7. Forget the cloth backed ones because they leak, atreatch, and have poor odor control.
Another option is a condom catheter and leg bag. They didn’t work for me because I’m too active.

The top diaper brands are:

Confidry 24/7
Better dry
Arena (level 4)

External catheter may be a good option, not all that cheap, but once you find one that fits well and has good adhesive, they are fool-proof, but some just never get there and give up. Worth a talk to your doc about for sure, at least you stay dry!