Cystoscopy

Archives1

Staff member
I have been needing to get a Cystocopy for a few years. I balked because the original one was over 4,000$! I found out it was because they wanted to put me asleep. I found a few local Urologists who can preform them for just a few hundred. My guess is that it's while I am awake.

How bad will this hurt? The worst I uave had sonfar has been urodynamic screening.

@lorumipsum for me the cystoscopies have been much more bearable than urodynamics. I had a cystoscopy a few weeks ago and it was over in a few minutes. They didn't take any samples. Cheers Phil

this past november i had it done. i found the pain significant at the moment he began but actually much less than i thought once it was underway. they do use lidocaine so that helps lessen the pain. the biggest problem is that i felt like i had an infection for the next couple weeks. who knows, maybe i did. but if so, it went away on its own. i recall having it done a few years ago with much less pain. maybe it was the skill/attitude of the doctor.

When I had mine they didn't put me to sleep not any pain just discomfort. He gave me antibiotics before the test

I didn’t have any aesthetic for mine. It was one of the most painful things I’ve been conscious for. I’d take someone’s hand to squeeze, or a washcloth to bite down on. But it is bearable, not worth $4,000. It’s also humiliating, weirder and worse than any gynecological procedure I’ve had, which is quite a few. Good luck.

Flexible scope wasn’t bad but the rigid scope used for the Botox was very uncomfortable going through the prostate and such. The Lidocane helped some but still uncomfortable.

I didn’t find the cystocopy really painful so much as it was uncomfortable. The urodynamics testing was humiliating and something I hope I never have again.

Not a biggy. You just pucker more because ofvthe invasion aspect, not really psinful at all. Go buy yourself a dozen rose afterwards