Camping

Archives1

Staff member
I’m new to wearing diapers at night and not sure what is necessary to use at night. I’m not so worried about what to do at home but we are going on a camping trip. I’m a little worried about the humidity at night and staying comfortable. I wake up right after I have an accident and get changed right away. I typically switch to a pull-up as mine is just a one time deal and I don’t have an accident every night. Do I need to worry about skin breakdown with the heat? Im going through a bunch of different diaper samples so I don’t have a set brand I wear. they all seem to be the same to me. The less padding the better. Haven’t had any leaks but it’s only been a week and 4 times where I actually needed them. Will a diaper be just fine or should I be doing something else? I’m a little nervous about how I’m going to put them on since I won’t have a wall to lean against. I am going to bring a pad for protection in case there is a leak since we won’t be able to wash anything for a week.

In your situation I would bring either a big garbage bag or smaller bags to "pack out" the diapers. I have worn mostly pullups and some briefs without issues, depending on how long you'd be wearing them. As for your skin, if you severely leak, or have bigger voids, be sure to change immediately when possible. If your issues are only nighttime, I would get some bigger wipes and you should be good.

I haven't fully "hiked" in a diaper but I do a lot of hiking in pullups usually. My issues are daytime issues as well, but the same idea applies-Don't sit in urine any longer than you have to, if you can avoid it. Northshore also sells stronger pullups if you want something lighter and more breathable, but I am not super familiar with nighttime leakage. Feel free to reach out if you have any further questions.