Calling nappies - nappies

Archives1

Staff member
Hi everyone I've been wearing nappies/ Diapers for many years. How many of you call them what they are rather than pads.

I have no problem calling them diapers now that a I’m back in the U.S. I lived in Australia for many years though, and there, I called them nappies It was interesting to me though, that, sometimes, healthcare professionals, upon hearing my American accent, would refer to them as diapers. I also lived for awhile in the Middle East. When I was hospitalized for surgery, some of the Filipino nurses used to refer to them as Pampers. I was surprised at that.

With my Wife, healthcare professionals, and online I just call them diapers. But with friends, or anyone else, I call them "Depends". I use what I consider to be a generic term (think Kleenex) like that as I feel it is a little more of a comfortable word for all concerned rather than using the heavily stigmatized term "diapers". In addition most would have no interest in knowing any details about exactly what I'm wearing, and for them it just conjures up the rather pleasant image that Depends advertising has portrayed in mass media. However, if someone really wanted to talk about the details, and use the word diaper doing so, I'd have no problem with that at all.

I totally agree with every single post. My wife calls them pads and hates it when I say nappy.
I was in hospital recently and I was wired up too all these different machines and I had to change but found it very difficult so I asked the nurse if she would help change my nappy and she kicked off saying there not nappies they are pads.

With me it depends on who im talking to, health care personnel I call them pads or protection.

Friends family their nappies or if talking to friends from the other side of the pond like USA I use the term diapers.