Anybody using electric stim for pelvic floor

Archives1

Staff member
Hi all,
I'm a newbie here and this is my first post. Had my prostate removed in Sept. 2017 and have the urine leakage that my doctor said I should expect for up to two years (or more?) Been doing kegel exercises and making weekly visits to a physical therapist. My question deals with using an electric stimulation device that works on the pelvic floor muscles. An electrode device, lubricated with a conductive lubricant, is placed in the butt... about two inches in. The device gives small electric shocks that contract the pelvic floor with each shock. They are small shocks and not dangerous. After about 5 or 10 shocks you stop for about 15 seconds... to give the pelvic floor muscle a chance to recoup and get stronger. I've been told doing two 15 minute sessions a day is a reasonable approach.

Has anybody here used an electric stimulation device to strengthen pelvic floor muscels? ... and if so, any feedback I receive will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks... Ken

I too had the surgery in July 2017. Had leakage since. I too have been doing the kegel exercises with no results. I asked my urologist about the electric stimulation. He said he does not recommend it because he has not had a patient that tried it and it worked. Very frustrating!

Thanks for the feedback folks. I will keep trying it for a while and combining it with regular kegel exercises. Will post something about my efforts after about one month.

I had a "clean-up" TURP in January, 2017, to deal with latent prostate issues related to my prostate cancer treatment in 2011. Since 1/2017 I have dealt with incontinence issues - primarily constant seepage and an occasional gush. My diagnosis is Stress Incontinence/Intrinsic Sphincter Deficiency.