ZOOM

Archives1

Staff member
There has been a little bit of discussion about setting up a Zoom session for this group, and I realize that some won't be comfortable (or perhaps able) to join such a meeting, but with so many of us feeling the weight of the current isolation- added to the reality that few have anyone with whom to discuss this matter, maybe the time is ripe. I have engaged in only one meeting, and I am sold on the concept.

First of all, I will ask if the moderators of this forum have any input or if you wish to set it up, or control it, or if you would rather it not be associated with NAFC;

secondly, I am putting out a call for someone already on here who knows what they are doing to set it up.

If necessary, I will do the legwork and get this going.

What level of interest is there for this, and is there any advice or ideas / concerns that anyone can offer.

Thanks, all.

Jeff

I'm new to Zoom, so using my own words to define it, I will say that it is a live, on-line video conferencing tool that allows 2 or more people to 'meet' by means of real-time video. What might be of interest in this particular community is the control afforded to each participant to block out his/her picture. If you are familiar with Skype, my understanding is that Zoom is very similar. Some have opined that Zoom is easier to learn.

Jeffswet: I think I like the idea, tentatively.
Are you thinking of doing a single topic at a time? I skip a meeting if I don't need a particular topic. There have been "general purpose" meetings.

Is this through NAFC, or separate?

Maybe this will help people decide:

I've had very good experience with Zoom, so far. It's my first season of using it.

Joining a meeting is dead simple. Either you get an email with the codes (Meeting ID and passcode), or they call you on phone.

2 kinds: voice only, and voice & video. On the voice & video, there was a choice of not having yourself on video, for some.