The weird panic of OAB..

Archives1

Staff member
Anyone have any advice or experience the same thing?

I can not seem to get past the mini panic attack that happens when the urgency hits and I don’t know if I will get to a bathroom in time. This has happened to me since the very beginning and still bothers me..

I have been managing OAB with incontinence for 3-4 years now. My OAB/incontinence fluctuates so there are some weeks I go without accidents and there are other weeks that I couldn’t make it to the bathroom in time if my life depended on it. I have come to terms with my bladder issues a long time ago, I wear protection everyday so I won’t have to worry. However, my body’s involuntary response is almost always to desperately try to hold it. My heartbeat gets elevated, I hold my breath, etc. and I have to like have a conversation with myself to calm down.

Just let the urine flow out of your body calmly as long as your protection is sufficient to hold it until you are able to change whatever protection you use.

I used to be the same way but realized there was no sense in letting it get to me I couldn't control it and unless my pull up leaked no one else knows

I find that it is less likely to leak if I let it go a little at a time. If I hold it for a long time, it comes out too fast in a big gush that can't be contained.

I can totally relate to the feeling you describe. I have oab issues more or less all my life, and was diagnosed with oab about ten years ago at the age of 34. It is a natural body reaction to try and hold your pee no matter how much pain is causes. Just letting yourself go is against that feeling and is often only a relief for a limited time. To me the feeling sometimes comes 2 or 3 times a hour, finding myself on the toilet trying to squeeze out every drop of urine thats in my bladder. The panic doesn't decrease, even if it happens that often and i know my bladder is as good as empty.