Ten calls. Or wait tell after July.

Archives1

Staff member
That is how many calls it took to get an appointment with Gastroenterology at the hospital. Luckily I got in touch with someone who works within the office and they went back and talked with one of my doctors and are getting me on the 22nd due to everything going on.

And now I have that office number in my phone to call when an issue like this comes up.

And I thought it was just the NHS in the UK had problems. Just goes to show we have to be persistent and advocate for ourselves

Great job at being persistent. Probably because I was an administrator in various healthcare settings, I have been able to avoid some built-in bureaucracy. Nothing like having a doctor’s cell phone. It certainly helps if patient or spouse can be advocates for theirselves.

No - the problem is quite evident here in the states. I'm under the Lovelace and Presbyterian systems and my experience has mirrored the @ThatFLGuy post.

I don't Care about throwing a hospital under the bus or exposing more about where I live here in Pennsylvania.

So for anyone asking. I am dealing with Geisinger Medical, Their Danville Pa. campus in particular. They are so backed up but still taking on new patients. They then of course do not take care of their current patients.

It is a mess. I told the desk nurse that it was ridiculous that I would have to drive all the way there, demand to see a patient advocate, or hope that the Director of operations within GI whom I have a cell phone number for to return my call.

In the past, if I felt like I did early this morning I would have gone to the ER/ED but then I had a very small BM and felt better.

I told the desk nurse that all I needed was someone with medical experience to tell me if what was going on was normal for post-surgery from a Gastroenterology standpoint. Things are not right and not how they were so I need to know what to do/try.