Putting diaper on

Archives1

Staff member
For those that use tape on products, how do you put it on yourself?

I have tried laying down, and leaning against the wall. I find it much easier to do standing up against the wall rather than laying on the bed. For me I see to get a better fit and don't hurt my neck trying to see what I am doing.

What is your preference? Are there other methods?

I almost always used the against the wall method. Especially when out and about and needed to change.

Like you I find standing up is the only way to do it myself. I have been diapering myself for many years and have always done it standing up. The only time I lay down is when a nurse or CNA put a diaper on me. Then it seems much easier for them. I’m glade you are doing it yourself. It really helps me accept diapering. Hope this helps.

@Chris318 Yeah I have only recently switched to wearing diapers rather than pull-ups. Have not been hospitalized or in another health care setting where a nurse or CNA would diaper me thankfully. Pretty sure I would argue with them and tell them to just let me do it, and probably lose the argument due to liability reasons for the facility. I hope not to need to face that situation for a long time.

Standing against the wall is the best way I've found. I've found many posts saying it's the hardest way to do it and laying down is the easiest, but I just don't see it. I've even tried a mirror above me (I know, it sounds kinky, right? I'm a very pragmatic sort of guy, but whatever works), but I just couldn't get my brain to work with the reverse imaging.
Once you have the experience of knowing the "landing zones" for the tapes, sitting could work, but standing is still my go to/only method.