Cpap and oab?

Archives1

Staff member
I was diagnosed with sleep apnea. I get cpap next week. Ive read a lot about it helping with not only getting up at night to pee but also with daytime urgency and leakage. Any experiance?

I have OAB and sleep apnea. Unfortunately, I have found no difference in my pee frequency (daytime or nighttime) with using the CPAP, although my wife says it has helped eliminate my snoring. I hope you have a better experience with the CPAP than I did.

For my dad, his CPAP greatly improved his sleep and daytime quality of life, but had no effect on his OAB. I have heard others here say it helps. My brain neurologist says it helps.

I have been using CPAP since about 2000, but did not have bladder urgency/frequency until about 2010. That means that in my case I have two answers to choose from: either there was no connection, or the CPAP caused the OAB problems. 😕

Everyone has their own experiences. Time will tell.

I would like to encourage you to be patient with getting used to CPAP. Many people give up quickly. (The statistic I see most often is 50% quit.) I have had to change my machines, masks, and tubing many times over the years. In the beginning I was okay with a nasal mask, but these days I use a full-face mask.

I have had to solve my own problems as they developed. For example, my mouth would no longer stay closed while sleeping with the nasal mask, so I switched to the full-face type. But that caused dry mouth, which caused dental decay and ultimately loss of teeth and getting dentures. Even with the full-face mask air still leaked between my rear teeth and cheeks. To solve that I created a thick, felt pad that I attached to the mask strap where it passed over my cheeks. It closed the gap and stopped the leak. (I haven't seen that tip on a video yet?)

From my experience: