Twenty years. Long post.

Archives1

Staff member
Most of you have seem my cute little squirrel on my profile. Not a lot of you know just how deep photography runs in my blood. My father was a photographer, even had some published photos in our local paper (I still have them). Sadly, my father passed away in 1993 in a tragic accident. Years later I needed an elective for grade school and took photography. I ended up using my fathers 35mm film cameras and learned to develop black and white film. I fell in love with it. Sadly as the class ended so did my ability to get film and have somewhere to develop it. That Christmas I was surprised with my first digital camera. A Kodak EasyShare ZD710 'that I still have.'

As a young photographer I never thought that a photograph that I took on 7/16/2001 would still have such a impact on my life. My brothers and I were visiting my uncle in New York City. We took in the sights and experiences of the big city for the first time. Being some one that loved photography, I took enough photos to fill the small memory cards I had never thinking about the impact those photos would have. But just 57 days later this photograph that I took was no longer possible of being recreated. The world had change. Evil had attacked us. Back home at in Florida I watched I horror as the events of 9/11 unfolded before my own eyes. This photograph means a lot to me. It shows what we lost, but also the strength of our nation to rebuild a grow together though tragedy.

Photography will always be in my blood and I will never forget where it all started for me.

772652eefc19bcd0ab17f600816d3632.jpg

FLguy. Darn! And here, all along, I thought that was a horse's hoof! Guess I need a newer computer with a better screen!