Strategies while travelling

Archives1

Staff member
I will have to fly to another city before long. I appreciate advice about products you like and strategies you like to use when you travel and are incontinent.

Has anyone use catheters for travel? I cannot easily transfer to a toilet. Thanks!

Great topic. How long’s your flight? I’m new to incontinence for a few months and am interested in this topic, also. I’m also very claustrophobic so for me Xanax might be a strategy to get me in the bathroom.
MrCatman.

Likely will be two two-hour legs. And all the time before and after....If people have managed this successfully, I'd like to hear. If not, I need to learn from your experience, too.

Hi Etowah and MrCatman,

I have had very successful travels wearing diapers. First of all from what I have read on here you want to ensure you are dry when going through security. I have not had any issues for myself going through security which I am very thankful for.

I would ensure you have on a relatively high capacity diaper on (diapers with tapes as opposed to pull ups) just to minimize if not virtually eliminate leaks while on the planes. I normally do not change while I am on the plane just due to the washrooms being so small and cramped. Typically I will just change while changing flights etc at the airports. I have only changed once which was an international flight from Amsterdam to Calgary as my diaper was fully saturated and I was worried about a full blowout. Not sure if the washrooms are drastically larger in first class however I was flying with KLM and fortunate enough to be in first class and that is the only occasion I have changed on a flight in the washroom aboard the aircraft. I just packed the soiled diaper in my carry on to dispose of in the airport once we arrived.