Smelly Pee

Archives1

Staff member
Hello All, I have a problem with smelly pee. I wear night time cloth diapers and plastic pants for bed wetting. The plastic pants get a bad smell almost every morning that is hard to get out. The diapers clean up OK. The real problem is the smell of my urine. It is not ammonia or even urine smell. It smells like burnt orange peel or something very spicy. It is also very persistent.
I had a urine analysis done recently and all was OK. My meds consist of BP licinopril and and occasional NSAIDs.
Am I sick or is this normal? Any suggestions?

Have you been eating anything different? I have noticed that some very spicy food can give my pee a different smell. It might be best to check with a medic as I'm no expert, Phil

Haven’t experienced that yet. Don’t recommend that on the pancakes though.😳
Wonder what causes that? Interesting.

purplehairlady said:
Sometimes it smells like maple syrup.. anyone else notice? I don't even eat that stuff!
You might want to have that checked out, the internet in it's infinite wisdom says:

An inherited condition, maple syrup urine disease, so named because it causes urine to smell like sweet maple syrup, results from the body's inability to digest certain amino acids. ... Sweet-smelling urine can also indicate diabetes mellitus, because excess blood sugar finds its way into the urine.

I was thinking about the diabetes thing too but didn’t want to diagnose. That is how I found out I had diabetes.🙁 bummer. At least it’s finally under control.

I have also been experiencing an odor of my urine. My wife has never relayed that she can smell me, I have very good hygiene. When we were furniture shopping a couple weeks ago she said she knew I needed to get changed. I have began wearing vinyl pants to work even over my disposable as it contains the smell. It has been going on the last 6 months or so, I cannot pin it down to anything different, it is a constant every time I need a change..

Hi Wb,