Request

Archives1

Staff member
Hi everyone, I am a pelvic floor physical therapist and I am compiling a list of the top 10 questions about urinary incontinence. I would love your feedback. It is for a project I am working on. If you have a question or know someone who does, I would love to hear it. I am happy to share my results with you. Thank you in advance for your time!

Post prostatectomy how come some have less or more incontinence. Am disappointed in my continuing leaking when walking. Really thought it was only going to be stress incontinence...keagals and what else will help?

Great question. I do not believe that is the case, although for some it could be. There are too many variables. I know that is what most doctors say, but in my experience, there is much more involved. Not to say it is super difficult to address, but there were probably things pre-surgery that have affected your ability to fully recover.

ppods651:

First thank you for all you do for us.

I am a 75 year old who had his prostate removed almost two and one-half months ago (almost 8 weeks). The prostate cancer, I am told by the Veteran's Administration, was caused by exposure to agent orange while I was in the Army in Vietnam.

I should also mention that I had my colon removed about 2 years ago because of a condition called Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD). My gastro doctor tells me my IBD may have been caused by a parasite I acquired in my bowels while I was in Pakistan (don't drink the water). The gastro surgeon crafted what is called a J-Pouch.

Consequently I could not have robotic surgery or radiation for my prostate cancer because of concern about damaging the J-Pouch. The prostate surgeon had to cut me open and remove the J-Pouch, which was a complicated operation. Both surgeons (gastro and prostate) work at Johns Hopkins and were in the operating room for my prostate removal.