Artificial Urinary Sphincter

Archives1

Staff member
I've been considering this for two years and finally did it.

Five days ago, I had surgery for an AUS at Jacksonville Mayo Clinic. I was happy with everything; people, nurses, doctors; everything. The only thing is that they are so careful about patient privacy, was that they won't put you in touch with other patients who have had the surgery. This is why I'm telling my story here.

The surgery went very well and I had no need for pain medication. But while in the hospital overnight, they insisted I take Tylenol. The AUS I have is AMS 800. I'm looking forward to going back in 6 weeks and being instructed how to use it and trying it out.

Another bit of information: I am black and blue on my testicles and half my penis, and the first few days I was quite swollen in the same area.

The doctor that I worked with told me his goal is to get a patient down to a pad a day or less. As far as I'm concerned, that would be a life changer for me.

I’m scheduled for an AUS on August 26th at Mayo Phoenix. Thanks for your input especially the black and blue part! My expectation is no pads at all!